What art course would be complete without the requisite drawing of an urn?  I enjoyed doing this one a lot.  The round, even shape was a welcome rest after attempting to draw that hair.  And Cindy Wider gave me a great tip for drawing with charcoal.  She writes:

“Charcoal is different; imagine that you are sweeping around tiny piles of sand on a shiny floor to create the drawing; it only requires a ‘lay it down once and move on’ type of application. The best way to get it right by just laying it down once is to really loosen up and relax your entire upper torso. A lot of drawing skills require the mind to be at ease and confident but this is even more so for charcoal.”

I love the image of “sweeping tiny piles of sand.”  I will work on that in my next drawing.  In the meantime, here’s the urn.

