It’s come a long way from here, but there’s still a long way to go.  I’ve been blending the graphite on the face to soften the features, and that’s a new technique for me to practice.  The hat is only just sketched in, so there’s still a lot more work to be done there.  I’m still trying to figure out how to improve the eyes, because they don’t look quite right to me.  The photo I’m working from lacks detail, especially in the eyes (they are almost entirely in shadow), so I’m having to kind of make things up, which at my beginning level is pretty hard to do.  I’ve already erased and started again from scratch the right-hand eye.

I am learning a lot from doing this portrait, which after all is the whole point.  This will be my first project for the Mentored Art Skills Program I’ve signed up to do with Cindy Wider.  She’s already given me some good tips to get me going, which I really appreciate.

Ooh, I just now noticed some weird dark spot underneath the nose, and I’m not sure how that happened, so I’m going to go fix that right now. Sometimes looking at the scan of the drawing helps me see something I’d overlooked when looking at the drawing itself, such as that strange mark.

Back to work!

